Synopsis
An abrupt change; a new friendship; a dark secret…

Kind-hearted Violet has never fitted in, but despite being bullied at school is now content. She is dating ambitious Lenny, has her dream job in publishing and runs a book club at the local retirement home.

However, when her relationship with Lenny begins to falter, Violet, hurt and alone, seeks the advice of her new flatmate, Bella. She changes her image and with her head held high aims to show that she doesn’t need Lenny in her life to be happy and successful.

Her long-term friends Mable and Farah worry about Bella’s influence and slowly Violet starts to distance herself from them. When she was a child, her closest confidant and companion was a boy called Flint. Her mother didn’t approve of their closeness and he suffered a terrible end. She won’t let the same thing happen to Bella, no matter what anyone says…

Knowing You is about friendship and knowing who to trust with your deepest secrets; it’s about taking control of your life and not being afraid to stand out. Perfect for fans of Ruth Hogan, Gail Honeyman and Amanda Prowse

Review Knowing You by Fany Van Hemelen:
What a stunning novel that starts as a feelgood book, but has more depth than you think! A darker story, perfect for this time with lovely characters and unrevealed stories!

Violet is working at Thoth publisher and loves her work. It doesn’t feel as work, books are her passion. As a kid, she already adored books and they were her friends and she could forget everything between them. At school she was bullied and when she was between other kids she stood aside. They don’t love reading and she fell apart. School was hell and to cope with the pain she decided to meet new friends. Flint was her soulmate, but he needs to disappear, just like she lost somebody else she loved before. Now she is happy with her life and settled, but when Lenny drifted away she is devastated.

Violet is feeling terrible, but moves on and when she has a new flatmate Bella they decide she has to be an empowered, strong woman. Violet is doing everything to prove Lenny she didn’t need him and she is good enough. This is the beginning of a new perfect Violet. From the kind and genuine booklady who always was there for her friends and her bookclub lovers she is changing in a very selfish person who didn’t need anybody. Her colleagues and friends try to convince her Bella is no good and Violet is diminishing, but she ignores them. Of Course nobody is perfect and Violet is putting so much effort to be the beauty, well-trained fit body and to fit in she has no time for nothing else anymore then struggling to be the ideal woman…

Knowing you is an incredible story with difficult themes and I think it’s bold to write them down. Samantha Tonge has decided to write this book to let the world know you can beat “Bella” and the most important is to stay in touch with your soul and be your own unique self.

Knowing you has a part that “plays” in the present and a section in 2001 where you get to know more why she is the woman we met today. I loved the details about the book stuff, the book ladies of her book club at the retirement home and her colleagues. The story is starting as a Feelgood-story with humor, but then subtly evolve into a darker story. This novel develops as a psychological thriller with delicate and difficult secrets.

When the book gets more depth, it wasn’t possible anymore to put this down. I was sometimes mad at the new horrible Violet, but at another part I just want to say:

“Run away, listen to your heart and life isn’t easy, but hey, it’s going to be okay”.

I was truly gripped by this emotional and sensitive tale.
I adored it that men and woman could be sensitive in this engrossing book. Violet is a complex person with traumatic experiences that alter her personality forever.
What an unexpected twist and unbelievable secret fold out at the end, this book blows me away!
Samantha Tonge, I can’t wait to read your next one!

Samantha Tonge

Samantha Tonge lives in Manchester UK and her passion, second to spending time with her husband and children, is writing. She studied German and French at university and has worked abroad, including a stint at Disneyland Paris. She has travelled widely.
When not writing she passes her days cycling, baking and drinking coffee. Samantha has sold many dozens of short stories to women’s magazines.
In 2013, she landed a publishing deal for romantic comedy fiction with HQDigital at HarperCollins and in 2014, her bestselling debut novel, Doubting Abbey, was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award. In 2015 her summer novel, Game of Scones, hit #5 in the UK Kindle chart and won the Love Stories Awards Best Romantic Ebook category.

 

Social media:
Facebook | Twitter

★★★★★
Titel: Knowing You | Auteur: Samantha Tonge | Uitgeverij: Canelo | Categorie: Feel Good Romans | Uitvoering: E-book | ISBN13: 9781788632218 | Verkrijgbaar sinds:|Recensent: Fany van Hemelen | Datum recensie: 14-03-2019| Prijs: €2,99 | Bestellen

Geef een reactie

Vul je gegevens in of klik op een icoon om in te loggen.

WordPress.com logo

Je reageert onder je WordPress.com account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Google photo

Je reageert onder je Google account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Twitter-afbeelding

Je reageert onder je Twitter account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Facebook foto

Je reageert onder je Facebook account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Verbinden met %s

Deze site gebruikt Akismet om spam te bestrijden. Ontdek hoe de data van je reactie verwerkt wordt.