Synopsis
A country at war
It’s the summer of 1919 and Ellen O’Brien has her whole life ahead of her. Young, in love and leaving home for her first job, the future seems full of shining possibility. But war is brewing and before long Ellen and everyone around her are swept up by it. As Ireland is torn apart by the turmoil, Ellen finds herself facing the ultimate test of love and loyalty.

And a long-buried secret
A hundred years later and Clare Farrell has inherited a dilapidated old farmhouse in County Meath. Seizing the chance to escape her unhappy marriage she strikes out on her own for the first time, hoping the old building might also provide clues to her family’s shadowy history. As she sets out to put the place – and herself – back to rights, she stumbles across a long-forgotten hiding place, with a clue to a secret that has lain buried for decades.
For fans of Kate Morton and Gill Paul comes an unforgettable novel about two women fighting for independence.

Review The Forgotten Secret by Fany Van Hemelen:
The forgotten secret is a heartbreaking and insightful historical dual timeline book about fighting for your beliefs you can’t put down!

Clare Farrell is married for twenty-five years with the very controlling Paul. When she becomes, by heritage, the owner of a farmhouse in Ireland she decides to start over. Now she will make her own decisions, stay in touch with friends and will go to find out their family’s history .

One day Clare is discovering a hidden treasure and from that moment she decides to search for the past. Clare has to dig for the truth at a terrible period in history. In Ireland brave men and women had fought in the past to get free from England. Independence was their wish and sometimes they gave their lives to conquer this. Ellen O’Brien was living at this troubling time. As a maid of a well-known bold madam and the love of someone who was involved in serious businesses she had to decide at what side she stood and how far her loyalty went.

I really loved or sometimes disgusted the characters in this timeline. Some of them were incredibly brave, maybe sometimes a bit naïve and they did all for their country. Ireland was not a peaceful place in 1919 and these were certainly not a happy timeline, but one about repression, victims and sad times. I was moved by the fearless women and angry about the insensitive ones. By letting her characters think and act like they did this author has written an emotional and thoughtful book about war and dreams.

The storyline about Clare is much lighter, but now it’s not the war that cursed pain, but a manipulative husband. Perhaps this timeline is not completely realistic, but I think the author did put this in the book to assure the balance is good and the narration is fluent to read. The Forgotten Secret is an historical must read by touching key players and an emotional story about being brave now and in the past!

Kathleen McGurl

Kathleen McGurl lives near the sea in Bournemouth, UK, with her husband and elderly tabby cat. She has two sons who are now grown-up and have left home. She began her writing career creating short stories, and sold dozens to women’s magazines in the UK and Australia. Then she got side-tracked onto family history research – which led eventually to writing novels with genealogy themes. She has always been fascinated by the past, and the ways in which the past can influence the present, and enjoys exploring these links in her novels.

 

 

Social Media:

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

 

★★★★
Titel: The Forgotten Secret | Auteur: Kathleen McGurl | Uitgeverij: Hq Digital | Categorie: Feelgoodromans| Uitvoering: E-book | pagina’s | ISBN13: 9780008236991 | Verkrijgbaar sinds: maart 2019 |Recensent: Fany van Hemelen | Datum recensie: 12-03-2019 | Prijs: €11,72 | Bestellen

Geef een reactie

Vul je gegevens in of klik op een icoon om in te loggen.

WordPress.com logo

Je reageert onder je WordPress.com account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Google photo

Je reageert onder je Google account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Twitter-afbeelding

Je reageert onder je Twitter account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Facebook foto

Je reageert onder je Facebook account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Verbinden met %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.