Synopsis
Life is hard for The Devil and he desperately wants to take a holiday. Growing weary from playing the cosmic bad guy, he resolves to set up a company that will do his job for him so the sins of the world will tick over while he takes a vacation. God tells him he can have his vacation just as soon as he solves an ancient crime.

But nothing is ever easy and before long he is up to his pitchfork in solving murders, desperate to crack the case so he can finally take the holiday he so badly needs…

This is a perfectly-pitched darkly comic crime novel that is ideal for fans of Christopher Fowler and Ben Aaranovitch.

Review Hellcorp by Fany Van Hemelen:
Oh, what do I love this dark sense of humor and thought provoking crime book! The funny tone combined with insightful ideas and lively descriptions about life and destiny made me laugh all the time.

The devil who outsources hell to have a vacation. It was such a great idea. Open Hellcorp, a new “Hell”at earth and let other people do your job while you as the devil have a nice holiday.

People are even more devilish than they assume so ready, steady go.. For having it his way the devil just had to promise “upstairs” to solve an old mystery. Easy piecy cake you would think, but at earthly things are different, and even, if he is the bad one, he has to face challenges to found his answers. Luck the devil has a marvelous assistant to help him and what better to “battle” him.

The book started very funny with the discussion between the pope and the devil. It ended that the devil won, because he may open Hellcorp without interfering from “upstairs”. The reality is a bit different and it is the question the hell or the heaven will get what they want.

The characters in this book are so good described that I can see them playing as in a film. Gideon is a woman with spunk and the devil is an arrogant, nasty and twisted personality. Alice, the devil’s secretary is lovely sarcastic. Some scenes are so hilarious and the sarcastic tone is incredibly enjoyable. The mystery is woven into this well-plotted book that at the end hits you with an unexpected twist. The author has worked in several domains as by politics, journalism and broadcasting. I think, between the lines, he sometimes shares his opinions or thoughts of our society and that gives the book an extra touch.

If you love a darkly funny book with vivid creatures and a fantastic tone, you have to read this one. I can’t wait to read the next one. I am very eager to know how the life of the devil and his “sidekick “ will develop further. Of course I would like to read more about the evolution of Hellcorp to, because I think this side line could be very intriguing to explore. In Hellcorp it was a pity, this isn’t more in the picture, but maybe this is a big surprise for the next book?

Jonathan Whitelaw is an author, journalist and broadcaster. After working on the frontline of Scottish politics, he moved into journalism. Subjects he has covered have varied from breaking news, the arts, culture and sport to fashion, music and even radioactive waste – with everything in between. He’s also a regular reviewer and talking head on shows for the BBC and STV. ‘HellCorp’ is his second novel following his debut, ‘Morbid Relations’.

Social Media
Facebook | Twitter 

 

 

★★★★
Titel: Hellcorp | Leesfragment | Auteur: Jonathan Whitelaw | Uitgeverij: Urbane Publications | Categorie: Thrillers. komedie | Uitvoering: paperback | pagina’s | ISBN13: 9781911583721 | Verkrijgbaar sinds: maart 2019 |Recensent: Fany van Hemelen | Datum recensie: 27-03-2019 | Prijs: €14,99 | Bestellen